MacBook Replacement Instructions
Please follow the instructions below to set up your new device, and to prepare your old device for return.
Transferring data
Before performing a factory reset on your current MacBook, you may wish to migrate your current account(s) and files to the new one. Here is the guide on transferring your data using Migration Assistant. If you do not save many files locally to your device, you may prefer to just upload any necessary files to your Google Drive account and set up your new MacBook as a new device.
Sign out of apple id (Do not skip this step!!!)
Once you are finished with the migration to the new device you will need to verify that you are signed out of any Apple ID on your old device. If a device is returned to SYS with the an Apple ID signed in we will be unable to recover the device and will be forced to reach out to you for the applicable password, or bill for the full cost of the device. Here is the guide to ensure you are signed out!
Factory Reset your device
Finally, time to reset the device! This allows SYS to turn these devices around as intended without spending hours resetting dozens of MacBooks. Here is the guide for that reset!
Next steps
When you are done with this process, please either drop your device off at one of the ORCA offices or use the provided shipping label to return your device at any UPS location.
SYS appreciates your cooperation with this process.
Looking forward to a great All-Staff, and new school year!